Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/lancash8/public_html/lib/vivvo/framework/full_page_cache.functions.php on line 133

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/lancash8/public_html/lib/vivvo/vivvo_lite_site.php on line 115
Lancashire Cricket Board - LCB Changes its Governance
Home | About Us | The Board | LCB Changes its Governance

LCB Changes its Governance

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

Following the 18th Annual General Meeting for the Lancashire Cricket Board on 10 April, the Board have made some significant changes in its governance and committee structures.

Members at the AGM unanimously voted in favour of the proposal to dissolve the Executive Committee and operate as a Board of Directors with 3 Committees reporting to it, see diagram below.

The Board of Directors is made up of the following: 

  • Bob Hinchliffe (Chairman)
  • Bill Robinson (Honorary Treasurer)
  • Geoff Ogden
  • Ken Standring
  • Mike Watkinson
  • Robert Cross (subsequently elected as Vice Chairman on 12 May 2014 meeting)
  • Hugh Evans (appointed at 28 July 2014 meeting)

Bob was voted in as Chairman of the LCB at the meeting of the Board of Directors straight after the AGM with Dr Tony Crook stepping down who retires after 13 years as Chairman. Tony has been heavily committed to the development of cricket in Lancashire throughout his time as Chairman and prior to that with his involvement on the Board and the Lancashire Cricket Association, spanning over 30 years. The LCB would like to wish him well in his deserved retirement and thank him for all his tireless work and efforts for recreational cricket in Lancashire. Tony was honoured as Vice President of the LCB along with retiring Board members Alan Wright and John Heaton, who were also honoured as Vice Presidents for their commitment to recreational cricket in Lancashire for many years.

The 3 Committees that will report into the Board of Directors will be:

1. Recreation Committee

Chaired by Bob Hinchliffe, this Committee deals with all matters concerning clubs and leagues cricket. There will be a representative from all affiliated leagues on to this committee.

2. Development of Excellence Committee

Chaired by Geoff Ogden, it is responsible delivery of all aspects of Performance / Representative / Elite cricket at junior boys, girls and women.

3. Development Committee

Chaired by Ken Standring, it is responsible for delivering the bulk of LCB activities and the development of cricket within Lancashire.

Other LCB umbrella organisations / associations will support these committees with representation on them where necessary.

Bob Hinchliffe, LCB’s Chairman, said: “The Annual General Meeting of the LCB approved the proposal from the Executive Committee, that the Committee be removed from the Governance structure as in recent times it has done little more than approve the minutes and decisions made by the various sub committees and organisations. The ECB recommended that the LCB's Board of Directors should take a much more active role in overseeing the Board's activities. The current Board of Directors have vast experience in running the Board's activities but the ECB strongly recommend that we appoint more Board Directors with business skills who can bring a wider perspective to our governance and activities. It is to this end that we are delighted to have begun this process with the appointment of Mike Watkinson and Bobby Cross as new Directors. The previous three sub committees i.e. Development, Recreation and Development of Excellence have now been designated as Committees reporting directly to the Directors with the Recreation Committee being made up of one representative from each affiliated league. I am sure that the new Board of Directors will work tirelessly to ensure that the LCB remains a high performing County Board.”


ECB Club Support

Rate this article

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Subscribe to our Newsletter