Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/lancash8/public_html/lib/vivvo/framework/full_page_cache.functions.php on line 133

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/lancash8/public_html/lib/vivvo/vivvo_lite_site.php on line 115
Lancashire Cricket Board - Winners announced at LCB OSCAs 2011
Home | Competitions & Events | OSCAs | Winners announced at LCB OSCAs 2011

Winners announced at LCB OSCAs 2011

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

Winners were announced at the third annual LCB Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards (OSCAs) celebration dinner on 15th July 2011 in The Point (Old Trafford County Cricket Ground).

The evening held in association with Headline Partners Metrolink and Audio Visual Sponsor Keyteq Presentation Services Ltd (Keyteq).

The OSCAs are aimed at recognising those volunteers in the recreational game of cricket who give so much of their time to the sport - without these individuals the game would not survive. The dinner provides an ideal opportunity for supporting our huge army of unsung heroes, saying thank you and celebrating their success with them.

Winners Announced

Winners were announced for 9 different award categories for which nominations were received and short listed at a glitzy awards ceremony. There was also a Special Recognition award, which was kept a secret until the night of the ceremony.


Award Category


Award Sponsor

Behind the Scenes

Martin Gaskell from Highfield CC



Building Partnerships

Brian Lorenzini from Prestwich CC


Collinson plc


Leagues and Boards

David Wright from Wavertree CC

Lancashire Cricket Board


Lifetime Achiever

John Mawdesley from Chorley CC




NatWest CricketForce

Freckleton CC


Lancashire Cricket Board


Officiating – Umpires & Scorers

John Holder from the Central Lancashire League Umpires


Hill Dickinson Lawyers


Young Volunteer

Andrew Kershaw from Newburgh CC and Rachael Kershaw from Newburgh CC

(Joint Winners)


Lancashire County Youth Cricket Charitable Trust


Coach of the Year

Dave Fairbrother from Horwich RMI CC

Myerscough College


Groundsperson of the Year

David Morris from Bradshaw CC




Special Recognition

Dr Tony Crook from the Lancashire Cricket Board & President of Lancashire County League


Lancashire Cricket Board



Photos of award winners available in "Image gallery" (on the right). Photos by: Jenny Laycock.

Andrew Hayhurst (LCB Director) commented: “Congratulations go to the winners and nominees of the third OSCAs celebration. In Lancashire, we have thousands of people who have devoted their lives to cricket and I would personally like to thank all our volunteers in Lancashire cricket, not those just honoured this evening. Many thanks also to our sponsors and personalities who have given their time to make this a truly memorable evening.”

Philip Purdy (Metrolink Director) added: "Metrolink are pleased to have supported what can only be described as an excellent LCB OSCAs celebration evening. Many volunteers from local clubs and community groups were commended for their tireless work in cricket and we were pleased to be part of such an event. Congratulations from Metrolink go to all nominations, short listed candidates and winners for their commitment to their cricket clubs and local community groups, not only within Greater Manchester, but also in Merseyside and Lancashire."

Whilst the LCB OSCAs Awards to volunteers took centre stage on the evening there was also some top drawer entertainment for the enjoyment of over 900 guests. Geoff Miller, keynote speaker, is the current National Selector for England and a former Derbyshire, Essex and England player. His hilarious dry Northern humour had the guests laughing from his amusing stories of his time playing. M.C. Malcolm Lord, journalist, broadcaster and author, kept everyone glued to their seats and kept the evening flowing.

All proceeds from the evening will be invested back in to grassroots cricket across Lancashire.

Special thanks from all at the LCB go to Dave Hardman, LCB Cricket Support Officer, for organising a very successful OSCAs event.

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:



ECB Club Support

Image gallery

Behind the Scenes - Martin Gaskell (second from left) Building Partnerships - Brian Lorenzini (first from left) Leagues & Boards - Dave Goodall (second from left) receiving for Dave Wright Lifetime Achiever - John Mawdesley (third from left) NatWest CricketForce - Freckleton CC (representative second from left) Officiating - John Holder (right) Young Volunteer - Rachael & Andrew Kershaw (second & third from left) Coach of Year - Dave Fairbrother (third from left) Groundsperson - Dave Morris (third from left) Special Recognition Award - Dr Tony Crook (left)

Rate this article

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version
  • Plain text Plain text

Subscribe to our Newsletter